The classic book BASIC Computer Games, published by Creative Computing, inspired a generation of programmers. The games were written by many people, and compiled by David H. Ahl. The fabulous illustrations accompanying each game were done by George Beker.

I've included all the games here for your tinkering pleasure. I've tested and tweaked each one of them to make sure they'll run with Vintage BASIC, though you may see a few oddities. That's part of the fun of playing with BASIC: it never works quite the same on two machines. The games will play better if you keep CAPS LOCK on, as they were designed to be used with capital-letter input.

The table below includes both links to the pages of the book at, and the source code for each game. I obtained most of the source code from, with the exception of Civil War and Super Star Trek, which I entered myself. The descriptions mainly come from an earlier edition of the book, 101 BASIC Computer Games, via the scans at All book content is provided with the express consent of David H. Ahl, editor.

You can download the entire set of games as a tarball (bcg.tar.gz) or a ZIP archive (

Game Source Description
Acey Ducey aceyducey.bas Play acey-ducey with the computer
Amazing amazing.bas Computer constructs a maze
Animal animal.bas Computer guesses animals and learns new ones from you
Awari awari.bas Ancient game of rotating beans in pits
Bagels bagels.bas Guess a mystery 3-digit number by logic
Banner banner.bas Prints any message on a large banner
Basketball basketball.bas Basketball game
Batnum batnum.bas Match wits in a battle of numbers vs. the computer
Battle battle.bas Decode a matrix to locate enemy battleship
Blackjack blackjack.bas Blackjack (very comprehensive), Las Vegas rules
Bombardment bombardment.bas Destroy the computer's platoons with missles before it finds yours
Bombs Away bombsaway.bas Fly World War II bombing missions
Bounce bounce.bas Plot a bouncing ball
Bowling bowling.bas Bowling at the neighborhood lanes
Boxing boxing.bas 3-round Olympic boxing match
Bug bug.bas Roll dice vs. the computer to draw a bug
Bullfight bullfight.bas You're the matador in a championship bullfight
Bullseye bullseye.bas Throw darts
Bunny bunny.bas Computer drawing of the Playboy bunny
Buzzword buzzword.bas Compose your speeches with the latest buzzwords
Calendar calendar.bas Calendar for any year
Change change.bas Computer imitates a cashier
Checkers checkers.bas Game of checkers
Chemist chemist.bas Dilute kryptocyanic acid to make it harmless
Chief chief.bas Silly arithmetic drill
Chomp chomp.bas Eat a cookie avoiding the poison piece (2 or more players)
Civil War civilwar.bas Fight the Civil War
Combat combat.bas Fight a small-scale war with the computer
Craps craps.bas Play craps (dice), Las Vegas style
Cube cube.bas Negotiate a 3-D cube avoiding hidden landmines
Depth Charge depthcharge.bas Launch depth charges to destroy a submarine
Diamond diamond.bas Prints 1-page diamond patterns
Dice dice.bas Summarizes dice rolls
Digits digits.bas Computer tries to guess digits you select at random
Even Wins evenwins.bas Take objects from a pile—try to end with an even number
Game of Even Wins gameofevenwins.bas Same as Even Wins—computer improves its play
Flip Flop flipflop.bas Solitaire logic game—change a row of Xs to Os
Ftball ftball.bas American football—you vs. the computer
Football football.bas American football for two players
Fur Trader furtrader.bas Trade furs with the white man
Golf golf.bas Golf game—choose your clubs and swing
Gomoko gomoko.bas Ancient board game of logic and strategy
Guess guess.bas Guess a mystery number—computer gives you clues
Gunner gunner.bas Fire a cannon at a stationary target
Hammurabi hammurabi.bas Govern the ancient city-state of Sumeria
Hangman hangman.bas Hangman word guessing game
Hello hello.bas Computer becomes your friendly psychiatrist
Hexapawn hexapawn.bas Hexapawn game
Hi-Lo hi-lo.bas Try to hit the mystery jackpot
High I-Q highiq.bas Try to remove all the pegs from a board
Hockey hockey.bas Ice hockey, two players
Horserace horserace.bas Off-track betting on a horse race
Hurkle hurkle.bas Find the Hurkle hiding on a 10x10 grid
Kinema kinema.bas Drill in simple kinematics
King king.bas Govern a modern island kingdom wisely
Letter letter.bas Guess a mystery letter—computer gives you clues
Life life.bas John Conway's Game of Life
Life For Two lifefortwo.bas Competitive game of Life (two or more players)
Literature Quiz litquiz.bas Children's literature quiz
Love love.bas Robert Indiana's artwork, your message
Lunar lunar.bas Land an Apollo capsule on the moon
LEM lem.bas Very comprehensive lunar landing
Rocket rocket.bas Lunar landing from 500 feet (with plot)
Master Mind mastermind.bas Guess the colors of pegs—then the computer guesses yours
Math Dice mathdice.bas Children's arithmetic drill using pictures of dice
Mugwump mugwump.bas Locate 4 mugwumps hiding on a 10x10 grid
Name name.bas An ice-breaker with the computer
Nicomachus nicomachus.bas Computer guesses number you think of
Nim nim.bas Chinese game of Nim
Number number.bas Silly number matching game
One Check onecheck.bas Challenging game to remove checkers from a board
Orbit orbit.bas Destroy an orbiting germ-laden enemy spaceship
Pizza pizza.bas Deliver pizzas successfully
Poetry poetry.bas Computer composes random poetry
Poker poker.bas Poker game
Queen queen.bas Move a single chess queen vs. the computer
Reverse reverse.bas Order a series of numbers by reversing
Rock, Scissors, Paper rockscissors.bas Game of rock, scissors, paper
Roulette roulette.bas European roulette table
Russian Roulette russianroulette.bas Russian roulette
Salvo salvo.bas Destroy an enemy fleet of ships
Sine Wave sinewave.bas Draw a sine wave on screen
Slalom slalom.bas Simulates a slalom run
Slots slots.bas Slot machine (one-armed bandit)
Splat splat.bas Open a parachute at the last possible moment
Stars stars.bas Guess a mystery number—stars give you clues
Stock Market stockmarket.bas Stock market simulation
Super Star Trek superstartrek.bas Comprehensive game of Star Trek
Super Star Trek: Instructions superstartrekins.bas Instructions for Super Star Trek
Synonym synonym.bas Word synonym drill
Target target.bas Destroy a target in 3-D space—very tricky
3-D Plot 3dplot.bas Plot families of curves—looks 3-dimensional
3-D Tic-Tac-Toe qubit.bas Game of tic-tac-toe in a 4x4x4 cube
Tic-Tac-Toe 1 tictactoe1.bas Simple version
Tic-Tac-Toe 2 tictactoe2.bas This version prints out the board
Tower tower.bas Towers of Hanoi puzzle
Train train.bas Time-speed-distance quiz
Trap trap.bas Trap a mystery number—computer gives you clues
23 Matches 23matches.bas Game of 23 matches—try not to take the last one
War war.bas Card game of war
Weekday weekday.bas Facts about your birthday
Word word.bas Word guessing game